top of page
  • Fantasy Basho

Kyushu 2019 Day One Recap

You can only learn so much after one day of action, which means it's time for MASSIVE OVERREACTIONS!

(Nothing here is too serious, take a deep breath and enjoy it.)

J1e Azumaryu (1-0) wins by yorikiri over M15w Daishoho (0-1)

Daishoho is on a spiral back into the depths of Juryo.

M16e Wakatakakage (1-0) wins by yorikiri over M15e Daishomaru (0-1)

Can Wakatakakage be a yusho threat in his debut tournament?

M14e Terutsuyoshi (1-0) wins by yorikiri over M14w Nishikigi (0-1)

The 14 win-man from the Nagoya basho is back! All hail the power of the salt throw.

M13e Chiyomaru (1-0) wins by hatakikomi over M13w Kagayaki (0-1)

Eternally Round? More like Eternally Winning in Kyushu.

M12w Takanosho (1-0) wins by oshidashi over M11w Chiyotairyu (0-1)

Takanosho figured out how to be a top-level Makuuchi rikishi during his recent Juryo stint. Chiyotairyu might have to do the same soon.

M10w Shodai (1-0) wins by yorikiri over M11e Ishiura (0-1)

A demotion down to M10 was clearly what Shodai needed to get himself in a yusho race.

M9w Yutakayama (1-0) wins by oshidashi over M10e Shimanoumi (0-1)

Future Yokozuna Yutakayama gets the win over future Juryo participant Shimanoumi.

M8w Sadanoumi (1-0) wins by yorikiri over M9e Kotoshogiku (0-1)

Sadanoumi might have found a new level, while Kotoshogiku might need to ponder retirement.

M8e Shohozan (1-0) wins by tsukidashi over M7w Kotoeko (0-1)

The old Shohozan (as in what he used to be) has returned to replace the old Shohozan (as in he has some years on him.)

M7e Tsurugisho (1-0) wins by uwatenage over M6w Enho (0-1)

Future Makuuchi stalwart Tsurugisho shows that Enho needs some new tricks to compete at this level.

M5w Ryuden (1-0) wins by hatakikomi over M6e Onosho (0-1)

Ryuden stakes a claim for future Sanyaku tournaments by dismissing Onosho as a future star. M5e Aoiyama (1-0) wins by hatakikomi over M4w Kotoyuki (0-1)

A big veteran like Aoiyama will just rack up the wins at M5.

M4e Tamawashi (1-0) wins by oshidashi over M3w Tomokaze (0-1)

Tomokaze doesn't stand a chance competing against veterans like Tamawashi.

M3e Takarafuji (1-0) wins by tsukiotoshi over K1e Abi (0-1)

Being a one-trick-pony will just get Abi nowhere against a veteran looking for double-digit wins like Takarafuji.

M2w Meisei (1-0) wins by shitatehineri over S1w Tochinoshin (0-1)

Future Yokozuna Meisei announces his presence by sending Tochinoshin to the clay and down the Banzuke.

S1e Mitakeumi (1-0) wins by hikiotoshi over M2e Myogiryu (0-1)

Future Yokozuna Mitakeumi gains pole position for a repeat Yusho performance.

O2e Takakeisho (1-0) wins by oshidashi over M1w Okinoumi (0-1)

Future Yokozuna Takakeisho shows Okinoumi it is foolish for any normal rikishi to challenge him on the road to his second Yusho.

O1w Takayasu (1-0) wins by tsukidashi over M1e Daieisho (0-1)

Future Yokozuna Takayasu shakes off his shoulder injury and gets ready for his promotion run.

K1w Endo (1-0) wins by yoritaoshi over O1e Goeido (0-1)

Future Yokozuna Endo puts Ozeki Goeido closer to kadoban and intai.

Y1w Hakuho (1-0) wins by hatakikomi over K2e Hokutofuji (0-1)

Prepare for Hakuho's sixteenth zensho-yusho.

K2w Asanoyama (1-0) gets fusen win over Y1e Kakuryu (0-1)

Kakuryu has slipped disk, making his career in doubt and giving Asanoyama the yusho platform he needs.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page